Friday, April 19, 2013

Though My Heart is Torn

By: Joanne Bischof

Though My Heart is Torn is the second book in the Cadence of Grace Series.  Gideon and Lonnie O’Riley have finally found happiness and have settled into family life with their son Jacob.  Away from their hometown of Rocky Knob, they have found their home living with Jebediah and Elsie in the Blue Ridge mountains.  Lonnie’s world is suddenly shaken when she receives a letter from her father telling her that she must return home as her mother has fallen ill.  Gideon, Lonnie and Jacob travel to Rocky Knob only to find that there is no truth to her father’s letter.  Lonnie’s father lured them with a deceitful letter to resolve an issue that has come to his attention.  Cassie Allen has made claim that she is Gideon’s rightful wife and she intends to have him honor his vows.

Gideon and Lonnie are both distraught by the news.  Gideon thought he was a free man when he married Lonnie.  Unfortunately, she had no knowledge of his past.  Their lives take an unexpected turn as they find themselves traveling on undesired paths.  Will they allow God to restore their brokenness and find comfort in His plan for their future? 

I was not sure I was going to like the storyline but I could not put the book down once I started reading it.  It was an incredible story.  This author has a way of capturing your attention and not letting it go until you turn the last page.  I look forward to taking one more journey with Gideon and Lonnie in the third and final book in the series called My Hope is Found.    

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.


No comments:

Post a Comment