Monday, December 10, 2012

A Wreath of Snow

By: Liz Curtis Higgs
 
 
 
 


It was Christmas Eve of 1894 and Margaret (Meg) Campbell was heading home to Edinburgh.  She planned on spending Christmas with her family in Stirling but the bitterness of her younger brother, Alan, was too much to bear.  Her brother was tangled in a web of unforgiveness and anger as he was involved in a terrible accident when he was younger.  He also struggled with feelings of inadequacy as he felt he could never quite measure up to his sister.  A conversation between him and Meg turned into an argument that was too much for Meg to bear.  As much as Meg wanted to spend Christmas with her family she decided it was best to catch the next train home.  During her travels she met a handsome man named Gordon.  Gordon has secrets that will soon come light.  How will Meg react to the news she is about to find out? 

This is the first book I have read by this author and I must say that I enjoyed it.  The book was well written and was not entirely predictable.  It was great reading this during the holidays.  I also enjoyed the Scottish Shortbread recipe at the back of the book, as well as, a Reader’s Guide.  This is truly a wonderful story about the power of forgiveness and how one can be free from the past.

 *I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Every Perfect Gift


By: Dorothy Love
 
 



Every Perfect Gift is the third and final book in the Hickory Ridge series.  This story takes place during 1886 in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee.  Sophie Caldwell returns to her hometown after years of living in Texas with her guardians, Wyatt and Ada.  Sophie has a true gift for writing and returns to Hickory Ridge to breathe life into the local newspaper, the Hickory Ridge Gazette.  When Sophie interviews Ethan Heyward regarding the building of the prestigious Blue Smoke resort she becomes smitten with him.  The feeling is mutual as Ethan cannot seem to get Sophie off of his mind.  As the story continues we learn that both Ethan and Sophie have secrets from their pasts that plagued them.  Both are unsure if these secrets will hinder their future together. 

This was the first book that I have read by Dorothy Love and I really enjoyed it.  Although it was the third book in the series, I believe it is a stand-alone read as I have not read the other two books.  However, the other two books may have helped me further in my understanding of some of the characters.  I would recommend there are many lessons learned.   This book illustrates how one person can change a person’s life in many different ways, both for the good and the bad.  Also, it shows that so often what we fear the most never comes past.  Finally, we learn that many times we pray for something that once received is not really what we want at all.  It may be worth noting that there is a short reading group guide at the end of the book for those who may be interested.
 
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Grace: More Than We Deserve, Greater Than We Imagine

By: Max Lucado



I love days when I can sit down and read a Max Lucado book.  I so enjoy his writing style and am glad that I had the opportunity to read his new book Grace.  I think this book is another great piece as it explores the grace of God.  The stories that he shares are relevant and help to paint a clearer picture of the point he is trying to get across.  One of my favorite stories that he shares is that of a missionary physician and his daughter.  The story is in the eighth chapter called “Feared Dethroned”.  I absolutely love this story as it illustrates how God knows our needs before we do.  His grace is truly sufficient.  Max also gets personal in this book as he shares how he has experienced the grace of God through his struggle with alcohol.    

I highly recommend this book if you want to learn more about the Grace of God.  For readers who like to do further study there is a Reader’s Guide for each chapter starting on page 157.  I like how the Reader’s Guide is set-up as each chapter contains the following: Grace Reading, Review Scripture, Ask, Call on God and Explore Grace-Shaped Living.       

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Walking on Water When You Feel Like You're Drowning

By: Tommy Nelson & Steve Leavitt

 


 

This book was written by two men who have experienced depression, anxiety, panic attacks and stress.  Tommy Nelson is a well-known author and pastor.  Many may know him from his teachings about the Song of Solomon.  Tommy explains how he loved teaching the Song of Solomon but along the way he began experiencing anxiety and panic attacks.  He realized that although he loved what he was doing he was overworked and stressed.  He wisely noted that he did not think it was possible to burn out from doing something that he loved but he was wrong.      

 Steve Leavitt is a counselor and has a ministry called Hope for Life.  Steve understands depression and anxiety as his life was turned upside down when his wife was pregnant with their second child and was diagnosed with cancer.  He talks about his pain as the Lord took his wife home four months after delivering their second child.  He was left to grieve the passing of his wife and be a father to two young children. 

In this book Tommy and Steve not only tell their stories but provide a biblical prospective to healing.  The book contains three parts: The Dark Descent, Questions from the Depths of Despair and Keys to Recovery.  The book was written in an alternating fashion meaning that in one chapter Tommy would tell part of his story and then Steve would tell his.  There are also some chapters that are just written by Steve.  I did not particularly care for the format of the book as it could be a little confusing at times but I did like the content.  I think both of these men have amazing testimonies and they could have written individual books.

 I would recommend this book to anyone experiencing depression, anxiety, panic attacks, stress, obsessiveness and perfectionism.  This book would also be good for spouses or family members who would like to help or better understand what their loved ones are experiencing.    

 *I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.          

 

Sunday, September 23, 2012

52 Little Lessons from It’s a Wonderful life

By: Bob Welch

Fall has arrived and once again I am reminded that the Christmas season is not too far away.  I enjoy Christmas classics which is why I was excited about the opportunity to review 52 Little Lessons from It’s a Wonderful Life.  Bob Welch has penned a delightful book which contains 52 life lessons from this classic movie.  Each chapter has a title (which is the life lesson), a line (or lines) from the movie and then a few pages expanding upon the life lesson. 

I really enjoyed this book as it gave an in depth view of the movie.  I look forward to watching the movie this year as I am sure I will notice things that I have not noticed before reading this book.  One part of the book that I really enjoyed was the Author’s Note in the beginning.  Bob talks about how a bank in the city that he lives in requires all new employees to watch a series of scenes from this movie.  He quotes the bank president who said, “The message in that film, is the message we want our employees to come to work with every day: the idea that our actions make a difference in the community around us.”  What a powerful statement!  If you like this movie I believe you will enjoy this book.    

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Be Still My Soul

By: Joanne Bischof

 

Lonnie, eager to escape from the clutches of her abusive father, finds herself in a very precarious position.  When her father catches her kissing the ladies’ man, Gideon O’Riley, he forces the two of them into marriage.  Although they do not want to be married to each other, they know that they cannot escape the inevitable.  Joel Sawyer, Lonnie’s father, has made up his mind crushing Lonnie’s dreams of moving in with her Aunt Sarah when she turns eighteen. 

Come along on Lonnie and Gideon’s journey.  They are an unlikely pair, who manage to learn lessons in faith, love and forgiveness.  Along their journey they encounter a loving couple named Jebediah and Elsie.  They are just the example that Lonnie and Gideon need in their life. 

I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down.  It had a lot of twists and turns and evoked many emotions.  This is the first novel by this author and I look forward to reading her second book in this series.  This series is called Cadence of Grace and the second book “Though My Heart is Torn” will be released in April 2013.  I have included some additional resources below, including a link to the first chapter.   
   
Additional Resources:



*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.


Saturday, September 1, 2012

Perfect Lies

By: Jennifer Crow
 
 
 
 
This book is about Jennifer, a pastor’s wife, who had many struggles, both physical and mental, and her road to healing.  Everything looked perfect on the outside but inside she was going through so much inner turmoil.  There are nine lies that Jennifer  believes people struggle with: I am unlovable, I am worthless, I am unacceptable, I am unable, I am a target, I am not angry, I am bad, I am in danger and I am deprived.  In each chapter Jennifer mentions emotions that are associated with each lie.  For example, if you believe the lie that you are worthless then you may also be experiencing sadness, depression and inferiority.
 
Jennifer believes that the Lord healed her through what is called Christian Meditative Prayer.  She addressed the lies that she believed through scripture, prayer and meditation.  She devotes a chapter at the end of the book to explain what Christian Meditative Prayer is and how to use it.  She understands that many people shy away from meditation because often it is associated with New Age.  However, she mentions that we are to meditate on the Word of God.    
 
This book spoke to me and has helped me during my own journey to healing.  It was an answer to my prayers and I would like to thank Jennifer for sharing her story.  I do not agree with everything that is said in this book but I found a lot of the information helpful.  I would recommend this book because it helped me.  However, I realize that there are many people that may not be able to receive from this book.  Regarding meditative prayer, you will have to decide if it is right for you.  I believe we are to meditate on the Word of God and the Lord always needs to be our focus.
 
*I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.          
       
 
 

 

Monday, August 27, 2012

Breaking Free from Fear

By: Kay Arthur

 

Breaking Free from Fear is a six-week Bible study that covers many aspects of fear.  Topics include fear of the Lord, man, the future, “what ifs” and death.  Each week begins with an introduction paragraph and an observation section where the leader instructs the group to mark-up passages with crosses, triangles, underlines, etc.  The studies include scriptures, discussion questions and a summary.  The format may work for many groups as it is designed to take forty minutes and there is no homework.  The study is meant to be completed with the group.  However, if someone wanted to do a more in depth study they could certainly do so.  The scriptures are printed on the sides of the pages which will save some time looking up scriptures.

I thought this was a good Bible study as it addressed many fears that so many of us battle each day.  I also liked the format of the weekly studies.  I personally do not care for the marking up of the passages but that does not impact the study material.  I would recommend this for a group or even individual study.  Please see below for links to additional resources regarding this book.
 

Additional Resources:

 
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Fully Alive

By: Ken Davis

Ken Davis is a best-selling author and a motivational speaker.  He also hosts a radio show called “Lighten Up!” which is heard in the United States and around the world.  Not being familiar with Ken, I was not sure what to expect when I chose to review this book.  The summary sounded interesting but I was hoping it was not a motivational book without any substance.  I was pleasantly surprised as I read through this book.  In my opinion, Ken does a wonderful job connecting with his readers.   While a lot of the information in this book is nothing new it was presented well.  I felt that Ken was relatable enough that his message could be heard.  He talks about many trials he has had to face and, while it was not easy, he has overcome many obstacles.  One of his obstacles was his weight.  He saw a picture of himself with his granddaughter and it was a wake-up call for him.  Ken decided to sign up for a triathlon as he knew this would encourage him to begin his journey to health.  He talks a lot about his journey to health and I found his journey to be quite inspirational.  He is truly an example of someone who has not allowed his age to dictate what he can or cannot do.  He also has chosen not to allow obstacles to get in the way of his goal.  He always found a way to press on. 

I highly recommend this book as I found it very encouraging.  Along with Ken’s stories, I also enjoyed the pictures that Ken decided to share with his readers.  He even included his “defining moment” picture, which I mentioned above, of him and his granddaughter.  I challenge you to read this book and see if it sparks a change in your own life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Trusting God: A Girlfriends in God Devotional




By: Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith & Mary Southerland

Trusting God is written by three women that are part of a ministry called Girlfriends in God.  I was not aware of this ministry prior to reading this book but am grateful that I was introduced to it.  This book is a twelve-week devotional that includes a Bible-study guide, as well as, journal pages.  What I loved about this book is that you can either study it on your own or make it part of a group study.  As I read through this book it was like I was sitting among friends.  I enjoyed the contribution of all three authors as they described both personal stories and stories of others.  The stories are relatable and encouraging.  Each devotional contains the following: Today’s Truth (a scripture), Friend to Friend (a story) and Let’s Pray (a prayer).  Each week has five devotionals and the sixth day is called Now It’s Your Turn.  This day contains the study guide for the week, a journal and a scripture. 

 I really enjoyed this book and rate it among one of my favorite devotionals.  If you would like to read the first chapter you can do so by clicking on the following link:  Chapter One

I have also included some other links below that may be helpful.  The one link contains weekly videos done by the authors for each chapter of the book.  I highly recommend this book! 

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Additional Links:
 

Press News - Girlfriends in God


Monday, July 23, 2012

Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Lasting Hope and Healing

By: Margaret Brownley and Haiku by Diantha Ain

Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Lasting Hope and Healing by Margaret Brownley is a 90-day devotional.   This book was born out of a tragic loss experienced by the author.  She lost her oldest son to an illness.  Three years after her loss she penned this book.  I am grateful that through her own pain she has chosen to bring healing to others.  This book was written to assist people during the grieving process and is broken into the following four parts: healing the grieving body, healing the grieving soul, healing the grieving heart and healing the grieving spirit.  I thought this book was very well written and it was easy to read.  Each devotional consists of two pages.  Although short, the pages are packed with powerful information.  The brevity of each devotional allows time for reflection and provides just the right amount of information.   Although this book was written for the grieving soul, I believe people who are experiencing other forms of loss may benefit from this book as well.  I say this because as I read this book I thought of people who are going through really difficult times right now.  They may not be grieving a person but they are grieving a loss.  I believe some of the lessons learned in this book could help them while they are on their road to healing.  This book may not be for everyone as we all grieve differently but I do recommend it as I believe it will help many.
 
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



         

Friday, June 1, 2012

50 Days of Hope: Daily Inspiration for Your Journey through Cancer

By: Lynn Eib



50 Days of Hope: Daily Inspiration for Your Journey through Cancer is daily encouragement for people who have been diagnosed with cancer and those who are traveling on this road with them .  The author, Lynn Eib, describes this little book as being most helpful for those who have been recently diagnosed with cancer.  However, anyone who is fighting this battle will be able to receive from this book.  This book is full of encouragement, prayers and stories of other survivors.   

As a cancer survivor, Lynn understands what it feels like to be informed of a cancer diagnosis.  She also understands the journey of doctor visits, waiting for test results, deciding on a treatment option, being hooked up to a machine which is administering chemo and wondering if she would get to see her children grow up.  Lynn was thirty-six when she was diagnosed with advanced colon cancer in 1990.  In 1991 she started The Cancer Prayer Support Group.  This group is believed to be the longest-running faith based group of its kind in the country.  Through her own journey with cancer Lynn wanted to help other people so she started working for her oncologist in 1996 as a patient advocate.

I have had several family members and friends who have been diagnosed with cancer.  I understand that helpless and scared feeling that is so often felt by loved ones.  I have also experienced sitting in a hospital room while a loved one is receiving treatment.  I have had the privilege of speaking with many of the brave soldiers sitting in that same hospital room who are fighting their way through this battle.  I believe this book would be an encouragement to those traveling on this journey.  It is not a book that promises that everything is going to be fine but it is one that provides hope.  From my experience, I can say that hope is what most of the people I have spoken with are seeking.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.          

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Mondays with My Old Pastor

By: Jose Luis Navajo

Mondays with My Old Pastor is about Jose Navajo, a pastor, who was burned-out from years of serving in the ministry.  On the verge of giving up he began meeting with his old pastor every Monday.  This book chronicles twelve of their Monday meetings along with an unexpected meeting.  Through stories and personal experiences this old pastor shares his wisdom gained from years of spending time with the Lord.  This is truly a heartwarming story that will make you laugh, as well as, shed some tears.

I absolutely loved this book and learned so much by reading it.  I know this book will be one that I reference often.  The life lessons were simple yet powerful.  Jose wrote the book in such a way that you felt like you were sitting right there with him and his old pastor.  I believe Jose was truly blessed by having this man in his life.  This book illustrates how much one life can impact the life of another.  Although people in ministry may be drawn to this book I believe that people who are not in ministry can also apply these principles to their lives.

*I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Friday, May 25, 2012

She's Got Issues

By: Nicole Unice


I had never heard of Nicole Unice before but something about the introduction and summary of this book made me want to read it.  I am so glad that I did!  This book is about how many of us try to live a good Christian life but the same issues, that have tormented us for years, try to keep us from living life to the fullest.  These issues include insecurity, fear, comparison, anger and control.  Nicole explains these issues in a very relatable way.  She also includes quizzes, prayers and other self-assessment tools such as journaling exercises and group discussion questions.  I found these tools to be helpful and think that this book would make an excellent small group study or a study to do on your own.


I am so glad that I choose to review this book as it really spoke to me.  I enjoyed Nicole’s style of writing as I felt like I was sitting with a friend who really knew me and what I was going through.  Many times I found myself re-reading a sentence because it was like a light bulb went off when I read it.  This book also served as a gentle reminder of things that I know but so often overlook.  I definitely recommend this book.     
  
*Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

 Additional Resources:

Author Site: http://www.nicoleunice.com/
Video Clip: http://www.tyndale.com/video/369

Monday, May 14, 2012

Wildflowers from Winter

By: Katie Ganshert



The book Wildflowers from Winter is a wonderful debut novel written by author Katie Ganshert.  I could not put this book down.  It captured my attention from the beginning.  Please click the following link to read the first chapter.  Read Chapter One 

This fictional story is about the journey of Bethany Quinn.  She is an architect at a prestigious Chicago firm and has built a life this is far from the life that she lived growing up in Iowa.  One day she receives a call from her estranged mother regarding a tragedy that her friend, Robin, has suffered.  Although Bethany has distanced herself from Robin over the years, she decides to return to Iowa to support her friend.  Bethany plans to return to Chicago as fast she can but an unexpected inheritance ties her once more to the place she would most like to forget. 

 
I highly recommend this book.  It was well written.  The author sprinkles clues throughout the book that eventually lead you to the pain that Bethany had to endure as a child.  This book has a lot of twists and turns that will keep you wanting to read on to find out what happens next.  Along with the element of sorrow this book also contains a romance story.  It is definitely worth reading.  Also, in March 2013 there will be a second book called Wishing on Willows which will be Robin’s story.  The author mentions this in the Acknowledgements section of the book, as well as, on her website.  Please see below for additional links that you want may to check out.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Additional links:

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

He Chose the Nails

By: Max Lucado

He Choose the Nails is another insightful book by Max Lucado.  The cover of this book drew me in. There is a picture of a cross made out of nails and a crown made of barbed wire.  Max explains how someone left a cross on his desk years ago along with a note.  This cross is what is pictured on the front cover.  It is an interesting story that you can read about in the “Acknowledgements” section.   I really enjoyed reading this book around Easter time as it was a good reminder of what Jesus did for us.  In this book Max describes the details of the crucifixion by breaking it down into the promises of God.  Each chapter describes God’s promise such as “God’s Promise in the Soldiers’ Spit, God’s Promise in the Crown of Thorns, etc.”  I thought the whole book was good but the last chapter titled “What Will You Leave at the Cross?” and the “Final Words” really impacted me.  I found them to be very powerful and encouraging. 

I cannot say enough good things about this book.  I have always enjoyed Max’s style of writing as it really speaks to me.  I enjoy the personal nature of his books as he draws from his personal experiences to drive a point home.   I encourage you to read this book to gain another perspective on how much Jesus loves you.      

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Simply Grillin: 105 Recipes for Quick and Casual Grilling

By: Jennifer Chandler

Simply Grilling is filled with so many mouth-watering recipes!  I am so glad that summer is just around the corner.  However, I learned from this book that I can grill any time of the year by purchasing a cast-iron grill pan that can be used indoors.  What I love about this cookbook is that it is not just a cookbook filled with recipes it is truly educational.  The author did a great job explaining how easy grilling can be.  Not being an experienced griller myself, I learned so many great tips from this book including that even salad can be grilled.  The author makes the book very user friendly by including a grill pan icon with recipes that can be made indoors which I believe will be very helpful when choosing recipes.  The author also really thought about her audience and includes the following with her recipes (when applicable): cooking tips, do-ahead, variations, marinate, and suggested sides.  There are so many other useful tips like the differences between gas and charcoal grills, how to best control the heat of the grill, how to be sure that meats are properly cooked and what items are essential for grilling.  I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone.  For the less experienced griller, I am sure you will find the tips very useful.  For both the experienced and less experienced griller, I am sure you will enjoy the recipes! 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Farm Fresh Southern Cooking: Straight from the Garden to Your Dinner Table

By: Tammy Algood

Farm Fresh Southern Cooking is a great cookbook with a lot of wonderful recipes!  I cannot wait to try them.  The author encourages people to cook fresh foods and purchase these items from their local farmers market.  She mentions that finding a local market can be a challenge for some people so she explains where to go to find this information.  She also encourages people, when traveling, to shop at local farmers markets.  She makes a great, often overlooked point, that different states may have different growing conditions.  Therefore, when traveling, people may often find that food tastes better than what they are used to at home or they may find some unique food items.  I have found this to be true in my travels.   

Another great part of this book is that it spotlights farms and farmers markets.  The author did a great job sprinkling this information through-out the book.  Included with the name of the market is the address, phone number, e-mail and website (if applicable), and consumer experience.  The consumer experience is helpful as it notes if it is a farmers market or if items can be purchased on-line.  The author also includes some information about the market.  I think this information would also be great for anyone who is traveling and looking to check out some local markets.

I would definitely recommend this book!  Enjoy! 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Monday, March 19, 2012

Great Day Every Day By: Max Lucado

Great Day Every Day is a book about navigating through the ups and downs in life.  Max Lucado challenges his readers to weave Psalm 118:24 into each day.  This scripture states “This is the day the Lord has made.  We will rejoice and be glad in it.”  The scripture does not state that we must only rejoice in the good days.  Yes, life can certainly throw some curve balls but the key is how we respond.  Max encourages his readers to trust the Lord in all things and believe He is in control of each day.  Max also points out that just because something bad happens during the day does not mean that the entire day should be viewed as “bad”.  For example, someone may receive a speeding ticket but, who knows, that speeding ticket may have saved him/her from being involved in an accident up ahead. 

 Max Lucado is truly a gifted writer who can say so much in so few words.  I really enjoyed this book and found it encouraging.  It was a short book (only 112 pages) and very easy to read.  There is a Daily Compass at the end of each chapter which provides some scripture(s) and some thoughts to reflect upon.  At the end of the book there is a discussion guide and a thirty-day devotional.  I would definitely recommend reading this book.

 Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Miracle for Jen By: Linda Barrick




















*FREE BOOK GIVE-AWAY* 
Would you like one free copy of “Miracle for Jen”?  Please leave a comment below along with your name and e-mail address.  Entries will be accepted until March 4, 2012.  On March 5th one winner will be randomly selected.  The winner will be contacted and will be mailed a certificate for a free copy of this book.  The winner must respond within 24 hours to the winner’s notification e-mail or another winner will be randomly chosen. 

Miracle for Jen is an amazing story about a family who has had to learn to trust God in the most difficult of circumstances.  The Barrick family attended church one evening and  made plans to have some family and friends over after the service.  As they were on their way home they were tragically struck by a drunk driver.  The entire family was injured but their fifteen year old daughter, Jen, sustained the most injuries.  The injuries were so bad that she was not expected to survive.  Once family and friends learned of the accident they started to pray.  The Lord heard their cries as Jen miraculously opened her eyes after lingering in a coma for five weeks.  Although her mind had sustained severe brain injuries, she woke up praying and praising the Lord.  This wonderful news still brought about many challenges as Jen was still not back to the way that she was before.  However, the Lord showed, in time, how He was answering this young girl’s prayer to serve Him more fully.   

This book chronicles the difficult, yet hopeful, journey that this family has had to endure and still endures to this day.  As I read this book, I was reminded of Proverbs 16:9 that talks about how man plans his ways but the Lord determines his steps (paraphrase).  This family was planning on returning home from church to spend time with their family and friends.  They certainly did not expect their evening to turn out the way it did, yet the Lord was there in spite of it all.  I was also reminded of why the Lord tells us to take one day at a time and not to worry about tomorrow (Matthew 6:34).  None of us know what tomorrow will bring but we can find comfort in the fact that the Lord will be there will us.    

“Miracle for Jen” is such an incredible and inspiring story.  I would recommend this book to others as it gives insight into the amazing things that the Lord can do with a willing heart.  I have also included some links below that are worth checking out.  Lastly, I do not normally comment on book covers but thought this one was extremely well done.  As I learned more about the accident scene the picture from the cover really stood out in my mind.

Disclaimer:  Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Click to see the Book Trailer

Click to learn more about the Barrick Family Hope Out Loud

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Constantly Craving

In her book “Constantly Craving”, Marilyn Meberg explores cravings such as romance, more from marriage, contentment, happiness, friendship and more meaning in life.   Marilyn writes, “My goal in writing this book is to help you learn to live in the balance of a life that does not always meet your expectations – and a life that may sometimes exceed your expectations.”  I believe that “learning to live” in the balance is so key.  All of us have cravings but ultimately our time on this earth will prove that we will never be truly satisfied.  Our relationship with the Lord is where we will find true contentment.

For those of you who are not familiar with Marilyn, she is a seventy-two year old Women of Faith speaker and an author of several books.  Her career includes a professional counseling practice.  I have never heard her speak but parts of the book made me laugh especially when she talked about her desire to go zip-lining.

I think the author made some interesting points throughout the book and that it was a good read.  It does make you think about some things in life and what is truly important. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Then Sings My Soul Book 3 By: Robert J. Morgan

Then Sings My Soul Book 3 by Robert J. Morgan is the last in a trilogy.  This book is broken down into the following four parts:

Part I: The History of Hymnody
Part II: Do You Know These Hymns?
Part III: Six Hymn Stories I Love to Tell
Part IV: Hymning in Private and in Public

This book is very interesting as it tells the stories behind many hymns from ancient to modern times.   While I was not familiar with many of the hymns in this book, I still enjoyed learning about how they came into existence.  I especially enjoyed Part III of the book where the author provides further information about the hymn “It is Well with My Soul”.  Previously I had only heard part of how this song came into existence.  It was very interesting to learn the rest of the story. 

I would definitely recommend this book.  A few years ago I had given a copy of the first in the trilogy series away as a gift.  The gift recipient expressed how much she loved the book.  She told me that she enjoyed reading the stories behind her favorite hymns and then played the hymns on her piano.  The author brilliantly included the music in the book and to this day that book is still sitting on her piano.  I know Book 3 will make another great gift!  Enjoy!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”