Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Trusting God: A Girlfriends in God Devotional

By: Sharon Jaynes, Gwen Smith & Mary Southerland

Trusting God is written by three women that are part of a ministry called Girlfriends in God.  I was not aware of this ministry prior to reading this book but am grateful that I was introduced to it.  This book is a twelve-week devotional that includes a Bible-study guide, as well as, journal pages.  What I loved about this book is that you can either study it on your own or make it part of a group study.  As I read through this book it was like I was sitting among friends.  I enjoyed the contribution of all three authors as they described both personal stories and stories of others.  The stories are relatable and encouraging.  Each devotional contains the following: Today’s Truth (a scripture), Friend to Friend (a story) and Let’s Pray (a prayer).  Each week has five devotionals and the sixth day is called Now It’s Your Turn.  This day contains the study guide for the week, a journal and a scripture. 

 I really enjoyed this book and rate it among one of my favorite devotionals.  If you would like to read the first chapter you can do so by clicking on the following link:  Chapter One

I have also included some other links below that may be helpful.  The one link contains weekly videos done by the authors for each chapter of the book.  I highly recommend this book! 

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Additional Links:

Press News - Girlfriends in God

Monday, July 23, 2012

Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Lasting Hope and Healing

By: Margaret Brownley and Haiku by Diantha Ain

Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Lasting Hope and Healing by Margaret Brownley is a 90-day devotional.   This book was born out of a tragic loss experienced by the author.  She lost her oldest son to an illness.  Three years after her loss she penned this book.  I am grateful that through her own pain she has chosen to bring healing to others.  This book was written to assist people during the grieving process and is broken into the following four parts: healing the grieving body, healing the grieving soul, healing the grieving heart and healing the grieving spirit.  I thought this book was very well written and it was easy to read.  Each devotional consists of two pages.  Although short, the pages are packed with powerful information.  The brevity of each devotional allows time for reflection and provides just the right amount of information.   Although this book was written for the grieving soul, I believe people who are experiencing other forms of loss may benefit from this book as well.  I say this because as I read this book I thought of people who are going through really difficult times right now.  They may not be grieving a person but they are grieving a loss.  I believe some of the lessons learned in this book could help them while they are on their road to healing.  This book may not be for everyone as we all grieve differently but I do recommend it as I believe it will help many.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”