Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Telling Yourself the Truth

By: William Beckus and Marie Chapian

I found this to be a very helpful book.  The authors discuss Misbelief Therapy and explain how to work through misbeliefs.  Many times people accept their thoughts without further challenging them.  This acceptance can often make people experience feelings and react to those feelings.  An example is given in the book about a man who was going through a divorce that he did not want.  One day he listened to what he had been telling himself.  He had thoughts about him being a failure and how nobody loved or cared about him.  He soon realized that the depression that he had been experiencing was due to his thoughts instead of his divorce.  He learned to reject those thoughts and focus on the truth.  Although not an easy process, he found that he could lead a fulfilling life.  This book contains many other examples of how lives can be changed when the lies are rejected and the truth is lived out.     

I recommend this book as I found it to be very useful.  Life can be so busy that very few people take the time to really think about what they are thinking about.  Reading this book provides some understanding as to why people may be experiencing different emotions and how to combat negative emotions.  The following are the ten misbeliefs that are discussed: Self-Talk, Depression, Anger, Anxiety, Lack of Self-Control, Self-Hate, Fear of Change, Never Taking a Chance, Our Relationship with Others and Being Indispensable.  The authors provide tools on how to combat negative thoughts and replace them with the truth.  For additional help, a study guide is provided at the back of the book for individual or group use.             
*Thank you Bethany House for providing me this book in exchange for my honest review.

A Moment in Time

By: Tracie Peterson

This is the second book in the Lone Star Brides series.  This book focuses on Alice Chesterfield’s story but includes further details about Jake and Marty.  Alice was introduced in the first book as Marty Olson’s maid.  The two have grown close and become like sisters.  Hard times have fallen in Colorado and Marty’s husband Jake decides it is best if they move back to Texas.  He leaves Marty and Alice behind until her can get established there. 

During their time in Colorado, Alice discovers secrets from her past and is unsure how to handle the news she has been given.  Shortly after finding out this information, Jake sends money for them to travel to Texas.  Although Marty still does not want to move to Texas, Alice is relieved as she believes it will be a new start for her.  While in Texas Alice is introduced to Robert, Marty’s nephew.  She quickly falls for him but withholds her feelings as he is promised to another girl, Jessica.  What will Alice do as she does not want to come in between the man she loves and Jessica?  How will Alice handle more secrets that are discovered from her past? 

I really enjoyed this book as it began where the last book ended.  I enjoyed learning more about Alice and seeing Marty’s story played out.  I also loved reading about Marty’s family and their neighbors working together to help each other out.  Unlike other series books that I have read, I believe it is best to read the first book in this series.  The author does include some information so a reader would have a sense of what is going on but there are so many details provided in the first book.  Many unanswered questions from the first book are answered but not all of them.  Hopefully they will be answered in the third book, A Matter of Heart, due out in October 2014.     

*Thank you to Bethany House for providing me this book in exchange for my honest review.

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Four Weddings and a Kiss

By: Margaret Brownley, Debra Clopton, Mary Connealy & Robin Lee Hatcher

I normally do not read western stories but thought I would venture out and give this one a try.  I am so glad I did as I loved this book!  The story begins in Fort Worth, Texas during a weeklong revival meeting.  Reverend Gregory Miller is struggling because he broke up with a woman he loved, Elizabeth Princeton.  He describes her as “reckless” and for this reason he believes he cannot be with her.  Reverend Miller is sitting around a campfire with four other preachers.  His private conversation with God becomes known to the other preachers when Reverend Miller unknowingly speaks some of his thoughts out loud.  As Reverend Miller explains to the other preachers why he cannot be with Elizabeth they each decide to share a story of unlikely couples.

The book is comprised of four novellas telling the stories of Rylan and Maizy, Jack and Molly, Treb and Katie, and Brock and Grace.  Each couple has their own unique set of circumstances that bring them together.  Rylan and Maizy are brought together because of her reckless ways.  Jack and Molly are brought together by him being hired for a job that she thought should have been given to her.  Treb and Katie are brought together by tragic circumstances which lead to a road of healing.  Brock and Grace are brought together by a request from a young boy who happens to be Grace’s son.  In case you are wondering, there is an epilogue which tells what happens with Reverend Miller and Elizabeth.

I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more western romances!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”