Monday, March 18, 2013

Wishing on Willows

By: Katie Ganshert

Do you ever find yourself so wrapped up in a book that you do not want it to end?  That is how I felt with Katie Ganshert’s sequel to Wildflowers from Winter.  Wishing on Willows drew me in from the beginning.  Robin Price lives in the small town of Peaks, Iowa.  She is a widow and a mother to her three- year-old son named Caleb.  After the passing of her husband, Robin decides to open a café with some convincing from her friend Bethany.  The opening of a café was a dream that Robin and her late husband, Micah, shared.  Life was moving along just fine until Ian McKay shows up.  Ian is a developer and his goal is to build condos in the very building where Robin operates her café.  Robin loves her small town and is determined to fight with everything she has in order to keep her café and the ministry next store open.

Conflict arises when Robin finds herself attracted to Ian and experiencing feelings that have been buried for so long.  How can she have feelings for another man and especially a man who is trying to close her café?  Ian is in Iowa to do his job and close this deal.  Trying to earn his father’s approval means the world to him and he knows this deal is important for the family business.  Ian is also holding onto hurts from his past.  Will past hurts bring Ian and Robin to a place of common ground?  Will they be able to let go of the past and embrace the future that God has for their lives?   

I was so caught up in this story that I was disappointed when it ended.  I found myself wanting to know more about what the future holds for these characters.  Unfortunately, this is only a two part series.  I thought Katie did a wonderful job with developing the characters.  Although I have not experienced the same type of hurt that these characters have I found myself relating to the many of the lessons they learned along the way.  I would definitely recommend this book and look forward to reading more books from this author.   

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment